So I’m sure you’ve seen lists like this all over the internet, as have I, and I love the idea.  Since college is long over and I’ve transitioned to a year-round, Monday-Friday, 9-5, summers just aren’t the same.  For a few years now Labor Day has snuck up on me, and I’m left feeling like I haven’t quite had a chance to really appreciate and enjoy what has always been my favorite season (although it’s now competing with Spring and Fall since transitioning from a frigid office to the heat outside is no fun).  So this year I’m determined to spend as much time outdoors as possible and really enjoy the season.  Granted this should be a bit easier since as of this week we will have a house with a great deck and backyard!  In deference to the whole home-owning thing, everything I’m listing is free or cheap.  So, in honor of Memorial Day weekend, summer’s unofficial (official?) kickoff, I would like to present my own list.  Hopefully when Labor Day rolls around this year, I’ll be able to cross a few things off and feel like I’ve made the most of summer.

  • Dinner al fresco as much as possible – unless it’s raining or freak cold, I want to be eating on the deck.
  • After-dinner walks to learn our way around town – good for us and the pup
  • Bike ride or walk to get ice cream – this is mostly nostalgia for when we first started dating
  • Block party – if our new street doesn’t do this already, I’d love to organize a casual BBQ with the neighbors!
  • Beach Picnic – nothing fancy, just some bread and cheese, fruit, and a bottle of wine.  Or a bag of chips and a sixpack.   Like I said, nothing fancy!
  • Overnight motorcycle trip – we’re busy the month or so my hubby is home this summer, but I’d love to sneak away for an impromptu trip, or at least a long day ride.
  • Outdoor concert and/or movie
  • Go to the race track – always a fun way to spend an afternoon
  • Go for a hike
  • Train for 1/2 Marathon!
  • Watch fireworks (doesn’t have to be on the 4th, but probably will be – family vacation in Maine!)
  • Get psyched for the Olympics and watch as much as possible.
  • Work on the yard
  • Grow tomatoes and basil
  • Shop at the farmer’s market
  • Read books (minimum 5?  I used to get in trouble for reading too much, but can’t remember the last time I picked up a book.  Sad)
  • Knit something for myself – not that I’ve knitted any gifts lately either, but hopefully something cute that I can actually get excited about and wear will get me back into knitting.

What are you hoping to do this summer?

