New Weekly Feature!  Meal of the Week Monday!  I love to cook, especially for family and friends.  I’m always sharing recipes back and forth with my Mom and SIL and thought it’d be nice to share some of the particularly tasty ones with our readers!  Kind of silly given that Mom is one of our two readers, but oh, well.

Yesterday Mother’s Day provided a great opportunity to test out some new recipes, and I would say they were all successful.

First off, my sister’s awesome Greek Nachos: Make pita chips by splitting pitas horizontally and cutting into wedges, toast in the oven until crisp.  Spread them with hummus (she used 40 Spice), then sprinkle with crumbled feta, diced tomato, red onion, and kalamata olives.  Bake for another few minutes then sprinkle with diced cucumber.  Serve with Greek yogurt with lemon juice stirred in.  We all loved these.  They were seriously awesome and I’ve already requested she make them again over Memorial Day weekend!

We also snacked on a dip I whipped up.  It wasn’t my favorite of all time, but others seemed to enjoy it, so I figured I might as well share the recipe.  Mash 1 can of rinsed and drained white beans with 4 oz of blue cheese, the juice of half a juicy lemon, some salt and pepper, and a few tablespoons of the beans canning liquid (add to your desired dip texture, I used about 3 T).  I also added in some chopped parsley, but mostly just because I had parsley.  We served this with crudites.  (Note: in a pinch, a pastry blender works just fine to mash!)

Both appys were made even more enjoyable by the gorgeous weather yesterday which facilitated cocktails out back on the deck.  Definitely got me psyched up for summer!

Dinner was lovely.  Mom’s lime-marinated chicken (limeade concentrate, olive oil, garlic, ginger, salt & pepper) with cantaloupe-bacon relish (make this. now. seriously.), goat cheese crostini, and plenty of veggies.  Followed up with my sister’s boyfriend’s mom’s (there’s a mouthful) baklava.  That stuff is dangerous.  Kind of wishing I had a piece right now.

Happy Belated Mother’s Day, and I hope you enjoy some of these recipes at your next BBQ!

